ooooooooooo

Need electrical opinions

Buckpasser

Roxor Ownership
Roxor Owner
Roxor #
Disclaimer: I am not a mechanic. Don’t be afraid to ask me for more information or be offended if I’m a bit slow keeping up.

Alright, here’s the issue. My battery died tonight and I had to be jumped off. Before I could make it home I lost headlights and eventually the engine died. I replaced with a new upgrade battery and limped home. I’m trickle charging that battery now.

The machine is a ‘19 but still under the 2000 mile warranty (somewhere). I know this sounds like a simple alternator issue, which apparently isn’t working. The only thing that makes me wonder is that my dash cluster is still waiting for replacement. It was dead except for the backlighting when I bought my Roxor, and the dealer is waiting on my replacement.

Do you think the cluster being out could be causing the alternator to not be cycling on? If not, am I the only alternator issue guy here or are they known to be faulty? Thanks in advance!

Buckpasser

Roxor Ownership
Roxor Owner
Roxor #
I recall reading here or on a Facebook group someone had cluster issues and noted that the alternator wouldn’t charge with the cluster unplugged. So yes I’d say once your cluster is fixed your alternator will work once again.

That was my fear. Thank you so much!

Buckpasser

Roxor Ownership
Roxor Owner
Roxor #
I ran a jumper from the post on top of the alternator (under the harness) to the positive post of battery and the alternator is now running. It’s maintaining 13 volts on my two test drives. Any good reason I can’t safely roll this way until my cluster arrives? Thanks again!

Also, if I don’t disconnect the jumper wire each time is it likely to drain my battery?

Buckpasser

Roxor Ownership
Roxor Owner
Roxor #