ooooooooooo

Installed Intake Hold down bracket oil leaking

CJ2Rox

Lifetime Member
Roxor Ownership
Roxor Owner
Roxor #
So I just installed the intake hold down bracket. Simple install went for a ride and noticed oil leaking. I'm new to diesels what's leaking. All three bolts seem tight. What's did I do wrong? How do I fix?

20210915_203758.jpg 20210915_172605.jpg 20210915_203747.jpg 20210915_203739.jpg

AZROX

Roxor Ownership
Roxor Owner
Oil, hmm. There is nothing around there you would have touched when you install the bracket that has to do with oil.
I was thinking diesel would make sense because the three bolts are around a fuel pump component. The fuel filter is on the same side.
Also, on the same side of the engine are the break fluid and power steering fluid reservoirs. Are they dry or do they have wet dust on it?

CJ2Rox

Lifetime Member
Roxor Ownership
Roxor Owner
Roxor #
All I did was undo the three bolts and slip in the bracket, and tighten back up. I have no idea why. It might be fuel but doesn't really smell like it. I'm also gimp right now due to ankle surgery so not at 100% to tackle the job. When I removed the three bolts I remembered something did move alittle. It could be fuel that would make more sense

CJ2Rox

Lifetime Member
Roxor Ownership
Roxor Owner
Roxor #
So I assume the 4 bolts if removed exposes fuel pump. Maybe something like a O ring popped out but now that it's back in its pinched.... wish I can see the breakdown of the pump

AZROX

Roxor Ownership
Roxor Owner
You are corret. If you removed all 4 bolts instead of the three needed to mount the hold down, you may have introduced an issue.

CJ2Rox

Lifetime Member
Roxor Ownership
Roxor Owner
Roxor #
I only removed the three left the 4th secured without removing or loosening. Why does it look like oil?

CJ2Rox

Lifetime Member
Roxor Ownership
Roxor Owner
Roxor #
I think I got it. I undid the three screws and tried to tighten them so they all wnt even

CJ2Rox

Lifetime Member