ooooooooooo

First oil change (Need advise)

jdlee

Lifetime Member
Roxor Ownership
Roxor Owner
Roxor #
Hey guys, I am about to do my first oil change after the break-in period (300 miles) and was at Costco picking some stuff up so I decided to look at their oil selection they did not have the recommended 5W40 full synthetic but they did have diesel specific 15W40. This case of oil was $30 after a $10 off rebate at the register.

I am a noob when it comes to diesel engines so I am interested in what you guys think. Thanks!
IMG_20180917_134302.jpg

Bdwelder_99

Founding Member
Roxor Ownership
Looking to buy
Prob best to use the recommended oil. 5w40. API CJ-4 certified. For warrantee sake. After that is expired. And if your in a southern climate. I would have no prob running that oil.

BradsRoxor

Roxor Ownership
Roxor Owner
Roxor #
That oil is OK to use in the summer.
The reason they spec 5W40 is for ease of starting in cold weather.
I would recommend Shell Rotella T6 5W-40. It is a great oil! That’s what I’m using.

Sonnyd

Roxor Ownership
Roxor Owner
That oil is OK to use in the summer.
The reason they spec 5W40 is for ease of starting in cold weather.
I would recommend Shell Rotella T6 5W-40. It is a great oil! That’s what I’m using.
Same! Rotella has probable seen more disel rigs past the million mile mark than any other oil.

jdlee

Lifetime Member
Roxor Ownership
Roxor Owner
Roxor #
Thanks for the input guys! I will head to the fleet shop tomorrow to get some 5W40.

RidgeRunner

Roxor Ownership
Roxor Owner
Roxor #
OEM oil and filter here, why chance it? I once worked at a Honda motorcycle dealership. A guy came in with a brand new Goldwing, in order to save $3 on an oil filter he bought a similar-looking filter from the Honda car dealership. The inside of the filter, not designed to see the high oil temps of a motorcycle, quickly melted and did massive amount$ of damage. American Honda denied the warranty claim.

Down East

Founding Member
Roxor Ownership